Radiant

April 18, 2012 § Leave a comment

I never quite know how to start these blogs of mine…

Congrats to me!  I got into grad school, so I’ll be a student again come fall.  The best thing about this?  I get all those nifty student discounts for the movies and tourist attractions.  Add that to my teacher discount and I’ll be swimming in percentages off.

Recommended Books:

Crossed by Ally Condie
I read the first in the trilogy, Matched, on the plane from Texas at Christmas.  So I thought it appropriate to read this book on the plane to Texas a few weeks ago.  It’s an interesting series about this Utopian-esque society.  I enjoyed both books okay, but I feel as if Condie could’ve added more details or made the books a little more fuller–I felt like I only got glimpses into Cassia’s life and I feel like I got gypped out of a complete story.  But, maybe this is because I am a very fast reader and probably missed a ton of things on reading.  Maybe when I read it again, I won’t feel the same way.

The Snow Child by Eowyn Ivey
OMG this book is beautiful, and I’m not just talking about the cover.  Set in Alaska in the 1920s, it tells the story of Jack and Mabel, a middle-aged couple who never had any children of their own and who, after all these years, so desperately want one they make a little girl out of snow.  Soon after, they’re frequently visited by a little girl as the winters pass, and they “adopt” her as their own.  I cannot stress enough how each of you should go out now and buy this book.  It’s reminiscent of Little Daughter of the Snow and Snegurochka, a Russian fairytale.  The book’s blurb is a little deceiving, however.  It made it seem as if the snow child had some sort of magic about her–like she was a demon, or something more other-worldly than what Ivey intended–and that’s why I picked up the book.  I kept waiting for something to happen, like a major plot twist, and though there was of course unpredictable twists and conflict and so on, it wasn’t quite what I imagined.  But I am so glad I did read it and I can’t wait for Ivey to produce more books.

 

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Radiant at Frosted Lightly.

meta

