Time keeps on slippin’…

October 9, 2011 § Leave a comment

It’s been two months into my new job–4 weeks since the school year started–and I am loving it.

I get to work at 8:30 and am busy with parent/student drop-offs, making copies, general secretarial work, etc.  From 9-12 I homeschool a ninth grader, from 1-3 I teach kindergarten, from 330-445 I tutor a sixth grader and from 445-6 I do more secretarial work, all at the same school.  I love that my day is broken into segments so that I’m not always doing the same thing all the time.  It’s routine enough to keep me satisfied, but varied to keep my interest.  Plus, I love teaching kindergarten.

It’s been a little weird going from 12 months straight of not working (outside the home) or having any sort of routine/work schedule.  I literally would wake up and do whatever I wanted to do all day–not cleaning, not washing dishes, not doing laundry, etc. etc.  And as much as I am grateful for a job and I absolutely do not want to go back to the previous unemployment status, I have to admit, I miss having time.

I miss having time to waste, or to clean, or to read, or to take an hour long bath just because I could.  I miss having time to workout–or at least having energy to workout–and time to reorganize our closets and write blogs and watch tv on the internet.

So I’m excited about Columbus Day tomorrow, and the fact that I will have an entire day to do anything and everything I want–minus all things that cost money.  And since the huzzband will be gone on a business trip to Las Vegas, I will have nothing to distract me from my endless amount of time.

I plan on cooking, cleaning, organizing, trying to sell stuff on craigslist or getting rid of it via freecycle, reading books, writing reviews, and watching lots of netflix.  Or maybe just sit around on the couch.  I do have have sickness as an excuse for laziness.

I’m excited.  I’m looking forward to this day.  I won’t get another day like this until November when Veteran’s Day comes along.  And as much as I’ll be lonely at night when the huzzband won’t be here, at least I can do some time catchup.

nov 2009, two days after being engaged.

Yeah, I’ll miss this man.  But I sure am welcoming the quiet solitude of a lonely apartment.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Time keeps on slippin’… at Frosted Lightly.

meta

