I’m always writing, even when it doesn’t seem like it.

August 3, 2011 § Leave a comment

I’ve been writing a lot.  Like, almost everyday.  Between this (neglected) blog and the (other neglected) blog I share with my cousin in combination with my new job as a book reviewer for Daemon’s Media, I find myself constantly sitting at the computer.
Which makes my eyes hurt.
So as I take a day off from the internet to rest my eyes, and in between writing three more reviews for this new job of mine, I’ll leave you with these pieces I’ve been writing while I try to clean my house.  It’s day 3 of cleaning the kitchen, and I’m hoping I can get it done today.  I mean, it’s a small kitchen.  We’re that messy.

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Perilous Journey by Trenton Lee Stewart

THE MYSTERIOUS BENEDICT SOCIETY AND THE PERILOUS JOURNEY is about the same four, extraordinarily gifted children—Reynie, Sticky, Kate, and Constance—who meet up for the summer because their benefactor, Mr. Benedict, has a trip planned for the four of them. But before they even set sail on their adventure, Mr. Benedict and his trusty sidekick, Number Two, are captured by Benedict’s evil twin brother—Mr. Curtain, who escaped from capture in the last book—and are being held hostage.
(Read the rest of my review here.)

The Mysterious Benedict Society and the Prisoner’s Dilemma by Trenton Lee Stewart
This book, though highly anticipated, was a drag compared to the other two. Though I enjoyed it, it was much more disappointing. The action took too long to begin and everything was wrapped up much too quickly. There were no long action scenes like before and most of the book concentrated on Constance and her growing powers of telepathy. The other three were all but forgotten and the more Constance took center stage, the less the other three developed.
(Read the rest of my review here.)

Faithful Place by Tana French
What I love about Tana French is her ability to string together beautifully written sentences to create striking images and overlapping storylines to make me feel as if I was a part of the story and not just watching it unfold, and FAITHFUL PLACE does just that.
(Read the rest of my review here.)

I also write over at Relative Wits.
Here’s a few of the stories I’ve been sharing:

If babies ruled the world, there would be no war.
Why is it that women seem to be completely written off if they are not mothers?  Before I even got married I was pestered by a small few with “When are you going to have kids?” or “Please make me an uncle!” (thank you, sister in law, for filling in that declaration for me. ).  Well the truth is, I do want to have children.  I really, really do.
(Read the rest of my post here.)

Nike had it right all along.
I wouldn’t be surprised if Jesus was the same.  After all, he was 100% man.  But you don’t see in the scripture Him saying, “You know, I don’t think I will walk on the water today.  *Yawn* I’m just too tired.  I don’t feel like it.”  And what if God had never found time to create the universe?  “Well, maybe I’ll do it tomorrow.  I’d rather play planet hockey right now.”  Where would we be?
(Read the rest of my post here.)

My husband and I got $2500 handed to us unexpectedly.
Not only that, when we came back from our weekend away from camping, we found a check for $1000 from the same guy under our door waiting for us.  The note said, “1000 thank yous for what you’ve done for me.”  So the total blessing ended up being $2500, more than enough for rent and to have plenty leftover–I still hadn’t bought glasses and we needed yet another tire changed on my dumb car.
(Read the rest of my post here.)

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m always writing, even when it doesn’t seem like it. at Frosted Lightly.

meta

