This is me on summer vacation.

July 12, 2011 § Leave a comment

This is the first month since early high school where I haven’t really worked the month of July.  I mean, sure last year with the newspaper I had a even more flexible schedule, but I was also suffering from newlywed-itis and homesickness and loneliness–not to mention suffering from heat exhaustion as my apartment had NO AC whatsoever–but this is the first summer in a while that I’m taking the time out to enjoy the lazy summer days by relaxing.  Especially because as of August 1 I start my new job (#13) and I’ll have a tight schedule from then til June.

I’m going to be a teacher!

So here’s the lowdown:  I started working in April as a tutor for a 5th and 8th grader (brothers).  When I went for the interview I found out the mother worked/owned/directed/created a Language Academy located only two towns over from us.  The school is for preschoolers (whose parents) are interested in becoming fluent in Spanish, because the whole curriculum is taught by Chilean teachers in their native language.  This fall she wants to debut a Kindergarten class in which 80% will be taught in Spanish (math, science, social studies, etc.) and 20% in English (reading, writing, phonics, etc.) and I just happened to interview for her tutoring job the same time she was looking for a Kinder teacher.  So needless to say, I got the job!

In addition to that, I’ve been teaching English (as a second language of course) to her Chilean teachers, the new ones who just came over to teach for the following year.  It’s been a challenge teaching these teachers my own language when we can barely communicate with each other–especially when it came to conjugating verbs–but it’s been a challenge I’ve thoroughly enjoyed.  So much so that my excitement in teaching Kindergarten next year–something I swore I’d never do since my mother is a Kinder Teacher, and who wants to be like her mother?–has fallen by the wayside.  Until I went to Target today and saw all of these cute classroom things that I had a hard time not purchasing.  I mean, who doesn’t want dry erase boards that mimic handwriting paper and a giant poster of the calendar and cute, cartoon-star-decorated name tags?

So in August, my schedule will look like this:
9-12:  Homeschool her oldest son (the 8th-soon-to-be-9th grader)
1-3:  Teach Kindergarten
330-5:  Tutor her youngest son (the 5th-soon-to-be-6th grader)

This will be the first time since my second to last semester of college that I’ll have a 9-5 job.  And I can’t wait!

So until then, I’m enjoying my summer, relaxing on my balcony and down by the pool, planning trips to the White Mountains and York Beach, anxiously awaiting my brother’s visit, and of course reading every book I can put my hands on because I know I won’t have time soon enough.

Yeah, that’s my library score.  And I’m already halfway through Faithful Place by Tana French.  It’s the third book of hers I’ve read this year, and I just love her writing style.  If you haven’t checked her out yet, you must do so, and soon!  I love how she sets her characters: In the Woods is about Det. Adam Ryan who is trying to solve a murder case that occurred in the same area of woods one of his hellish childhood memories took place.  The Likeness is about Det. Ryan’s partnet Cassie Maddox who actually goes undercover as a murder victim in order to figure out who did it.  And in Faithful Place, Det. Maddox’s undercover boss, Det. Frank Mackey, finds that his long lost lover never did run away, but was (of course) murdered.  So in all three books you get repeat characters.  I like how they work as a trilogy, when in fact each book is nothing like it’s predecessor.

And if you haven’t read The Phantom Tollbooth, well, you’re missing out on one of children literature’s best book of all time.

The others I stumbled upon in my search for other books.  I heard great reviews about The Writing Circle, and decided to pick it up.  My cousin had recommended Her Mother’s Hope–a cheesy title, but the author wrote Redeeming Love, which is one of my favorite and more well-read books–so I stuck that in my pile.  And since I haven’t seen Water for Elephants (the movie) yet, I decided to go ahead and read the book.

Of course, I’m hoping tonight the husband and I will go purchase this book, since it was released today, and then all time will stop until I’ve finished it.  I’ve already read the first two in the series twice in less than a year, I’m hoping this one doesn’t disappoint.

Most anticipated book release since Harry Potter.

And that’s where I’ll be for the rest of the month.  Reading, reading, reading, and not feeling guilty about a minute of it.

What are you reading?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading This is me on summer vacation. at Frosted Lightly.

meta

