Album/Artist Review: Jesus Culture

July 4, 2011 § Leave a comment

I don’t like Christian music.  Actually, I pretty much hate it.  It’s stupid, it’s pop-y, and usually they’ve got lyrics worse than P!nk.  If I’m going to listen to Christian music, it’s got to be praise and worship music, and even that’s usually pretty corny most of the time.

But I like Jesus Culture.  I hate, no, wait, I loathe their name–talk about corny–but everything I’ve been searching for in a worship band I have found in the stupidly named Jesus Culture.

The songs are catchy, without being shallow, and the lyrics are deep without using an obscure, unrelatable vocabulary.  It’s also not folksy, with the djembe drums and acoustic guitars like Enter the Worship Circle and it’s not flashy with synthesizers and fancy iMac computer-generated sounds.  And the vocals are pleasing to listen to, a rarity to find these days.

I mean, I do like the other stuff, don’t get me wrong, but when I need something upbeat, non-depressive, and makes me really feel like God is in my apartment while I’m cleaning or studying or writing blogs, this is my new go-to band.  So I invite you to check it out.

Eventually, I hope Christians get with the program and start coming up with names that aren’t so ridiculous.

And if you like Christian music and think I’m the one with the awful taste, I invite you to share with me your own personal preferences.  I’m always up for new suggestions.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Album/Artist Review: Jesus Culture at Frosted Lightly.

meta

