#FridayReads

July 1, 2011 § 1 Comment

For today’s #FridayReads, I’m still reading Speak by Laurie Halse Anderson, but I’ve also checked Suite Francaise by Irene Nemirovsky.  I’ve seen this book countless times at the library–I’m always taken by the cover–but I only just decided to check it out (pun intended).  The book is actually two novellas, both historical set in the 1940s during WW2.  The first is fictional; the second, factual.  What’s interesting is that Nemirovsky wrote the book with the intention of producing a five part series, yet she was transported to Auschwitz and died before it could be completed.  Her daughter found the book in the 90s and it was subsequently translated and published.  So Suite Francaise is actually incomplete, and although I’m only five pages in, I’m already wishing I could write a draft as beautiful as Nemirovsky.

I’m always looking for new books to read.  My go-to site for book news is usually Daemon’s Books where almost every book imaginable is reviewed.  Nicholas Brealey Publishing’s blog also has some interesting recommendations, such as today’s blog where the interns discuss their current reads.

What are you reading this Friday?  Do you have recommendations for me?  I’m not sure if you’ve noticed the sidebar to the right, but I’m always updating my pages of music, movies, tv, food, and book recommendation, and I’m currently looking for new ones!

If you are reading, watching, or listening to something that I should know about, leave it for me in the comment sections or on the Facebook page.

§ One Response to #FridayReads

  • Alyssa says:

    I picked up Suite Francaise at a bookstore years ago, captivated by the cover like you. I never got around to reading it before I moved to Italy, and it’s been sitting in a bookshelf at my parents’ house since. I didn’t even read the back cover! Now that I’m a bit more enlightened to what it’s about (thanks to you), I’m going to make sure to pick it up next time I’m in Mont Belvieu.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading #FridayReads at Frosted Lightly.

meta

