WRITEAPALOOZA

May 30, 2011 § 1 Comment

I’m writing again.  In fact, this week (well, not today since the huzzband is home from work, thanks to veterans) is offically called WRITEAPALOOZA in which I shall spend all my time before going to work writing.  What will I be working on?  Well, as I have two working novels, I suppose whatever strikes my fancy.  The goal is that by the end of the summer, I’ll be finished with one or both of them.

So I shall leave you with the opening scene of my newest novel that will be published eventually…hopefully.

The Beginning of the End:  The Prologue.

“I think we should go on a break.”

“Like, take a break or break-up?”

“Well, I guess more like break-up.  I mean, if you want to get technical and everything.”

“Um, yeah, I want to get technical and everything.  This is because you want to date that girl isn’t it?”

“Uhhh–”

“It is!  What’s her name again?  Charity or Mercy or Chastity or something hypocritical like that?”

“Her name is Grace, and don’t be rude.”

“You’re a jackass.”

I guess he didn’t like that much, because he didn’t say anything for a while.  I didn’t really care though.  He was a jackass.

But, at least he was always my jackass.

“I don’t understand,” I said later, breaking the silence.

“What don’t you understand?”

“The break-up.”

“Well, it means we won’t be dating anymore.  You know? Like, I won’t call you or talk to you or anything.  You won’t be my girlfriend.  And we can see other people.”

I slapped the phone on the table in frustration, almost breaking the screen.  “Idiot, I know what a break-up is.  I mean, I don’t understand why we’re doing it.”

“I think it’s time.”

“You think…I’m leaving for college in two days and just now you decide it’s time?  What about last night when we were making out on your couch, huh?  Didn’t think it was time to end it then, did you?”

“Don’t be rude, Rae.  I’ve thought about this a long time.”

“Well, it would’ve been nice if you had clued me in at some point, dontcha think?”

“What do you think I’m doing now?”

This time, it was me that didn’t say anything.  Infuriated at this unexpected loss, I think on some level I believed if I stayed quiet, he’d realize what a mistake this all was and he’d break the silence with a reprieve.

“I’m going to get off, now.”

Well, so much for that theory.

“Did you hear me, Raegan?  I’m getting off now, okay?  I hope you have a great time at college.”

“Yeah, whatever,” I finally said.

“Don’t be mad.”

“Yeah? Well piece of advice:  next time you break up with someone, don’t do it over the phone.”

And that’s when I hung up.

I immediately went for the phone to redial his number, but before I entered the last digit, I threw the phone across the room where it made it a dent in the wall before landing in the trash can below it.

What can I say, I’ve got great aim.

§ One Response to WRITEAPALOOZA

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading WRITEAPALOOZA at Frosted Lightly.

meta

