“I swallowed a tapeworm last night.”

May 7, 2011 § Leave a comment

I may have been absent from the blog world this week, but that doesn’t mean I haven’t been doing anything in real life!   Here’s what I’ve been doing:

  • Reading In the Woods  by Tana French–A great book, set in Ireland (by an Irish author) and probably one of the best mystery novels I’ve ever read.  At first, it was hard to get through because French is really poetic and likes to describe things in lengthy detail, but it’s good.  However, as good as it is, and as much as I recommend it, I was also very disappointed in the ending.  The reason I picked up the book in the first place and the reason I was so intrigued didn’t play out like I thought, and there wasn’t a very good payoff in the end.  But her writing style is worth the read, I think.
  • Scrutinizing The Homework Myth by Alfie Kohnmy friend Christine has a review on this book on her blog, and before you get into it, I suggest you take a look at her review first.  I’m liking the book, but I have to say it’s riddled with way too many statistics and research numbers to really keep my attention for a long period of time.  And while Kohn insists that homework is pointless and stupid, he doesn’t make a clear case for homework as being a complete hindrance.  Anyway, I have my own thoughts about homework–especially now that I’m a teacher!–but it’s nice to see someone else’s perspective.
  • Oh, by the way, I’m a tutor now.  And starting in June I’ll be teaching English to some adults at the school I’ll be working at in the fall (fingers crossed).  Yup.  Teaching English.  The language, that is.  Not what my degree is in.  But it’s all the same.
  • Thanks to Jordan, I am now obsessed with this song and music video. 
  • This is also a really cool–and maybe a bit disturbing?–video on symmetry.  But as cool as it is, I question the definition of symmetry.  I feel another term would be better, but I wouldn’t know what that would be.  Watch it, and tell me what you think.
  • My favorite store for the past few months has definitely been Anthropologie.  In fact, we went last night and bought this really cool key to hang on our wall.  But I think the store has been bumped by both Rugby by Ralph Lauren and Madewell.  Definitely my two new favorite stores.  (Can they be your favorite if they’re too expensive for you to own anything?  I think so.  If you’re wondering what to get me for my anniversary, gift cards will suffice.)
  • And for the greatest news ever:  I saw Mindy Kaling last night at The Gap!  If you don’t know, she plays Kelly Kapoor on The Office (which, while it may be tanking at the moment, will always remain as one of my favorite shows.  And I feel like it’s going to leave some sort of legacy in television).  It was so cool!  I think the coolest part was that not only is she one of my favorite characters on the show, she is also responsible for writing these characters into existence.  I think I drooled a little bit.   Go here to see a video of Kelly’s best moments on season six of the show.

What have you been doing?

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading “I swallowed a tapeworm last night.” at Frosted Lightly.

meta

