A few of my favorite things…

April 27, 2011 § Leave a comment

1.  Tumtum and Nutmeg, Adventures Beyond Nutmouse Hall by Emily Bearn. 
I love children’s books.  And by that I mean I hated the ones when I was growing up.  They were stupid.  But children now have such great books!  I only wish they take more advantage of them.  What I like about this one is that it’s about two mice that share a house with humans.  It’s a simple plot, but Bearn has a way of making the story exciting and imaginative yet understandable for young children.  It’s fast-paced and cute.  I find myself wishing I had two mice like this living in my house.
(also, this book is yet again authored by an English woman.  I’m starting to wonder if America has any great works?)

2.  These bookshelves, courtesy of Jordan at Life Musings.  They’re awesome.  I want them all.

3.  The Civil Wars Poison & Wine.
It’s not often I find a song I obsess over, but this is definitely one of them.  It’s beautiful.  But more than that, it creates the kind of feeling I hope to create in my writing.  I like their other stuff, too.  But beware, it’s really folky, so if that’s not your style, you probably won’t like it.  But I don’t doubt that this particular song will get you going.  And their music video is pretty good, too.

4.  My friend Alyssa over at In the Wabe is doing one of those 365 photo challenges.  Normally, I find these photo challenges quite boring (and you’ll probably never see me participate in them), but I like seeing hers.  I don’t know if it’s how she takes photos, or that I know her personally, or if it’s the prompts the challenge has her do, but I love looking at her photos.

5.  President Obama just released his birth certificate (it’s too bad he had to do it in the middle of Ellen).  He comes on TV and is all, “I’ve released my birth certificate” and goes on to say that the fact people are demanding it is ridiculous.  “We have more important things to worry about.  We  have a lot of problems we have to fix,” he said (paraphrase).  I agree, Mr. Obama.  We do have problems to fix.  It is ridiculous people are demanding proof of your Americanism–Guys, Congress would not let him be president if he wasn’t.  However, I disagree that you, Barack, will fix these problems.  But we shall see.

6.  And finally, this movie.  Nope, haven’t seen it.  But I’m surprised there hasn’t been a movie made about Prom ever–and I’m not counting that horror flick with Brittany Snow.  This looks real cute.  I’m hoping the huzzband will take me for the premiere (hint hint if you’re reading!).

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading A few of my favorite things… at Frosted Lightly.

meta

