Link love wrap-up

March 25, 2011 § 1 Comment

To end this week of what it’s like being thrifty, being a newlywed, and how to have fun on a budget, I thought I’d share some links/resources that I’ve found helpful.

The Saved Quarter–A personal finance blog in which the author works hard to save a quarter of her income.  I’ve found tips on how to save money and pinch pennies.
My Frugal Fun Life–The winner of All You’s grocery challenge in 2010, this is a blog detailing how one woman was able to pay off $17,000 in debt in 17 months.  I’ve found tips on how to shop for groceries and how to cut back on the food bill, while at the same time staying healthy.  This blog–though it has a ridiculous name–also covers interesting how-tos involving cheaper alternatives to everything from laundry detergent to shampoo to cleaning products.
The Krazy Coupon Lady–I am definitely not an “extreme couponer,” and nor do I plan to be, but I like perusing the site and clipping the coupons that I know will use.  It saves the money I would spend on a Sunday paper, and saves a lot more time, too.
Passionate Homemaking–A very Christian example on a woman serving the Lord by serving her household.  I don’t agree with a lot of the opinions she gives (she’s a bit too extreme for me sometimes) but I have gotten a lot of organizational tips from her on “running” a household.
Budget Bytes–This is a great blog on cooking.  It’s sort of along the same lines as $5 dinners, but they’re way better.  She details exactly how much each dish costs and each serving.  I’ve made a couple recipes and so far they’ve been great.

I’m big on blogs because I like to learn from other people’s mistakes–that way I don’t have to learn anything the hard way myself.  With the exception of Budget Bytes, these are also all mom blogs.  Why?  Because I can not find any single person with a blog that also talks about what it’s like to be thrifty.  If you know of any, please feel free to direct to them.

I also get a lot of info from the Moms–she’s the one that taught me how to cut up a whole chicken.  So never underestimate your own family.  However, it never hurts to go elsewhere for other info.

Tell me your favorite way to have fun–on a budget–and/or the best tip you’ve ever got and you could win a prize!
The contest ends at 6pm tonight.

§ One Response to Link love wrap-up

  • Hey, thanks for the shout out! There are definitely single thrifty blogs, but I seem to gravitate toward the moms since we’re all in the same life stage and I can relate. :)

    It’s past 6 pm, but tonight, I went and had drinks and appetizers with a girlfriend. It was a mystery shop so our drinks and apps will be reimbursed and I’ll have had a nice, free night on the town with my friend. Can’t beat that!

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Link love wrap-up at Frosted Lightly.

meta

