There is always something.

February 9, 2011 § 5 Comments

I don’t like Christian Fiction.  In fact, I would almost go so far to say that I hate it, but more than that I find it absurdly annoying.  The characters are usually flat, the story line is usually lame, and every single one of them are all the same.

But since I’m a writer, and a Person of Faith, and reading is a large part of my job, I, of course, have come across some Christian Fiction that I wouldn’t deem as great, but acceptable.  Engaging.  And likable.

1.  Redeeming Love by Francine Rivers.
I know for a fact that if you’ve read this book, you will absolutely wholeheartedly agree with me.  This book tells the fictional story of the book Hosea, from the Bible.  It’s set in the 1800s and is full of broken families, prostitutes, passion, tragedy, and ends in a way that makes me weep with joy.  It’s a love story; a love story that parallels the story of God, how He faithfully pursues us, not with meanness, but with love.  One of the best male figures in literature, Michael Hosea seems to be overlooked in the wake of Mr. Darcy, Rhett Butler, and Mr. Rochester.  But really, he is the man that men of today need to look to be and the kind of man that women need to wait for.

2.  The Veritas Conflict by Shaunti Feldhahn
I had to read this book at SWAGU, and let me tell you, I was not excited about it.  But, being a good student, I pushed through and read it.  And it wasn’t terrible!  I’ve actually read it more than once.  It’s about angels and demons, and how we’re never alone.  It’s full of mystery and suspense with some thriller thrown in.  For everyone that likes those idiotic paranormal movies, I would recommend this book to you.  Although, I guess I shouldn’t, ’cause it’s not at all like those dumb horror movies.  This book has substance, which is what keeps the whole plot line together.  Though Feldhahn isn’t a terrific writer, she does have a great way of weaving the angel/demon theme with ideological arguments.  It definitely gets cheesy, with the main character, Claire Rivers, seeming all “goody two-shoes” at times, but as a Christian who also attended a secular university, sometimes cheesiness is all that can pull you through.

3. The Diary of a Teenage Girl Series: Caitlin O’Connor, by Melody Carlson
A family friend gave me this book because the character ‘s name is spelled the same way as mine, and at the time it was a rarity.  Again, more cheesiness, but it’s okay, because this series is about a high school student, non-Christian, who becomes a Christian, and her struggles from her junior year in high school to when she gets married after she graduates college.  I think it’s an adequate portrayal of high school insecurities combined with religious identity.

There’s also another trilogy about Christian high schoolers that’s fairly decent, but I swear I just cannot remember the name or author right now.

This is, obviously, not an extensive list, but I just haven’t come across many Christian fiction books worth mentioning.  I also stereotypically put them all in the same category and generally don’t read them if “Christian” is used in naming the genre, but all the same, not a lot worth mentioning.  But these should keep you occupied for a little while.  And they’re the ones that I also come back to should I be in need of something to pass the time.

Your favorites?

§ 5 Responses to There is always something.

  • Kim says:

    Thanks for your opinions. I, as you know, thoroughly enjoy “Christian” fiction. Maybe I’m boring, but I enjoy the story while usually being encouraged or challenged in my walk with Christ. Probably my all-time favorite author (very contemporary) is Karen Kingsbury. Francine Rivers, that you mentioned, of course is amazing. Her latest two (a set called Marta’s Legacy) – Her Mother’s Hope and Her Daughter’s Dream (I think the names) were really good. The time span was from very early 1800s to present day over the course of two very long books. It was not overly Christian, and the characters did not have perfect lives. In fact, they were all really messed up. So, you get to follow them with their ups and downs, mistakes, misery, tragedies, love, etc. Anyway, these are a couple that I think even you may approve (maybe?). Karen Kingsbury is an easier read, but she does a great job applying Christian principals into daily, real-life. I love, too, that she is so real. Following her on facebook, she has virtual lattes and such with her readers and followers. She shares her life – her kids and husband, events, etc. – so her readers feel like we know her. I could go on, but I thought I’d actually comment this time.

  • christine says:

    I don’t like a lot of Christian fiction, either… I enjoyed “The Last Sin Eater” by Francine Rivers. I like a lot of Frank Peretti’s young adult fiction (like the Cooper Kids series).

    …but that’s about it. The rest is just kind of lame, predictable, and sappy.

  • I was told to add an addendum: I like the Narnia series.
    But I don’t think that series counts. It’s not blatantly Christian since it’s billed as sci-fi.

  • Glenda says:

    I guess you are your mother’s daughter! I’ve never liked Christian fiction either.

  • taylor says:

    i think ur one book about angels and demons looks good

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading There is always something. at Frosted Lightly.

meta

