I’m kind of a local celebrity.

November 30, 2010 § Leave a comment

I know I complain a lot about not having a job, but I should probably clarify:  I have one of the–if not the one–coolest jobs you could ever really imagine.  I am a reporter/editor of one of the local town newspapers, and I freelance for 5 other local papers.

It was actually really cool how it started.  I replied to a craigslist job posting, but I had left my phone in North Carolina in the honeymoon, and while I was waiting to get it sent to me, the publisher had called.  So five days after leaving the voicemail, I was able to call him back.  I wrote my first articles for the first issue, and then the editor from the Dedham Transcript got my information and asked if I would freelance for her paper and another paper.  And then the editor for the Medfield paper got my information from her and asked if I would freelance for two papers he is in charge of.  So for a while there, it was quite a windfall of words.

And it’s because I’m constantly writing articles that I fail to update this blog in a timely manner.

What makes this job cool is that I’ve only been here 6 months and I have met and talked to some of the coolest people in this town–people my own husband haven’t met and he’s lived here for 7 years.  Like I talked to this one guy who built this giant tugboat-in his garage.  And for one of my freelance articles, I got to attend a school assembly and learn about the China Exchange Initiative, which brought students from Bengbu, China to the tiny (and I mean tiny) town of Medfield for 3 weeks.  I got to meet the Chinese students and they were so excited to meet a reporter they asked to take a picture with me.

But for the December issue of the newspaper, I had the chance to meet the town’s Carillonneur.  See, the town of Norwood has the really cool looking town hall that was built in 1928 and has the really tall tower complete with a set of 50 carillon bells, and the carillonneur is the person that plays all those songs you hear around noon time while you drive down the road.  So not only did I have the chance to meet him, I also got to go up into the tower and see the bells and learn how it’s played.

Sitting at the playing instrument of the bells

the levers that ring the bells

the bells themsevles

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

And here’s a video of him playing the bells!

And yeah, I do have the coolest job ever–too bad it doesn’t pay more–and I think it’s funny that I tried all through college to try and intern/get a job at a newspaper, but it wasn’t until I graduated that I landed it, a time when I realized that I really don’t want to be a journalist.  And I’m definitely thankful to have a job in a time and a place where jobs are hard to come by.  I’m thankful to have a job that actually does use my degree, which is almost unheard of nowadays:  I’m one of those rare creatures that paid $60000 plus interest to get a piece a paper I actually want to use.  I’m really thankful that I don’t have set hours and days and times and places to work at either, which makes it really easy to have dinner ready for my husband when he gets home, to have the time to clean and do laundry, to have the flexibility to pick up and go to Minneapolis or to Texas when my husband’s job sends him on a business trip, and to have the ability to be able to take as many sick days as I want–right now I’m trying to fight off what could be a really disastrous cold.

I’m also thankful that this job allows me to get paid while I still try and figure out what it is exactly that I want to do with my life.  Yes, I want to teach, but I think it’s important to get life experience before I go straight from school back to school–what would I have to share with my class?  I want to be a writer, and I’m still working on the Next Great American Novel, the manuscript of which that became my working thesis for the last 2 and a half years.  I want to edit and publish books, and I’m still trying to figure out how to do that.  And I definitely want to get my masters and maybe one day my Ph.D., but I don’t want to be one of those kids that sit in school forever only because they can’t get a job they want or they don’t know what they want to do, that’s just not how I roll.

So now it’s time to take some cold medicine, watch a movie until I fall asleep, and wait out this sickness until the greatest husband ever gets home from making the big bucks.

Someone’s got to do it.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading I’m kind of a local celebrity. at Frosted Lightly.

meta

