Kickin’ it old school

July 28, 2010 § 1 Comment

I’ve become a radio junkie, cruising the stations to figure out which songs will be set aside to become later known as oldies from the millennium.

I think it’s weird, that music I listen to now might become oldies, and that my children (should I have any) will be asking me to turn off the radio stations of the music of my days to something newer to them.  I wonder if every generation had this thought, and I’m sure they have.  But my dilemma stems from trying to pick out which songs I think will become as infamous as “Can’t hurry love” by The Supremes or “Reach Out (I’ll be there)” by The Four Tops, or even “ABC” by the Jackson 5, because I feel as if in the past decade or so, there has been no new music as scandalous as songs by Elvis or Jerry Lee Lewis or even as new and breakthrough such as pop culture defined by Michael Jackson or funky rap like “Baby Got Back”.  We’re riddled with boy bands and Disney pop stars, but the music has relatively remained very similar in structure and content.

I think my generation will always remember Blink-182 or Good Charlotte, since they defined our high school years, but punk isn’t all that new to the music scene–at least I don’t think so, but like I said in an earlier blog, I love music but I am not an expert.  These are merely my own opinions–and Indie funk has become punk by way of vampires but it, too, has always really been around in the form of Bob Dylan and Buddy Holly.  So, in 20 years, what music will be playing on the oldies radio stations?

California Girls:  Katy Perry featuring Snoop Dogg.
Yes, I know, why on earth would Katy Perry ever be considered worthy of the oldies station?  I compare the content of her song to the content of those of the Beach Boys.  The Beach Boys’ famous hits involve lyrics revolving around locations such as California or the Bahamas, places known to people, places being visited for recreational purposes.  In the 50’s, the craze was those lazy beach days, surfin’ and turfin’, and in the same way the Beach Boys depicted ocean cities in the 50’s, Katy Perry depicts California post-millennium, in a slightly tipsy phase.  And in addition to this song, I think her “Waking up in Vegas” might also go down with the greats.  I mean, who doesn’t like a good Vegas song?  It’s officially our go-to place as the setting for anything crazy.  (The Hangover, anyone?)

Billionaire:  Travis McCoy featuring Bruno 
This song makes the list because of songs like “Baby Got Back,” rap with such ridiculous lyrics.  McCoy pulls out Oprah, the state of the Economy, Forbes magazine.  In 20 years, who won’t want to be a millionaire?  And who won’t continually be rapping the lyrics to this song?  In fact, the other day my husband says to me in passing, “You know, I really want to be a billionaire,” to which I replied, “OMG so freakin’ bad.”  I feel that repartees such as this one will be carried on over to the future generations.  As long as Bill Gates retains his ungodly amount of money, the rest of us will be wishing to have just a slice of that financial pie.

Emergency:  Paramore
Because who doesn’t like an angry punk girl band, especially when they wail about breakups and boys that are no good for them.  Especially now that they are being idolized in rap (Airplanes with B.o.B) and immortalized film history (Twilight).  I feel that they’ll be screeching for a long time.  Well, at the very least this song will be anyway.

Lose Yourself:  Eminem
Eminem will go down in history if not for his name only (you know, M&M?).  Plus he made that really dumb movie, so at the very least my future children will have the terrible possibility of finding it themselves one day.  But Eminem is not that terrible of rapper, go figure.  And he’s actually been around since my seventh grade year–give or take–and resurfaces every once in a while.  He’s just so angry, he channels everything into his music and it turns out pretty decent.  Well, except when he raps about his daughter.  Then it’s all toned down.

And you can’t forget songs like “Numa Numa” who made it’s debut in my life one morning before school when the news showed the video that fairly large man put up of him singing to it, and then that one rap song took the melody and put in a rap song.  And there’s also that “remake” of the song “You Spin me Right Round,” although now it’s got a whole new, and very dirty, meaning attached to it.  And of course I might have to add Nickelback in there, and not because they’re any type of good, but because of how pseudo-famous they are right now and how frequently they’re played on the radio.  And they did come up with that one song for Spiderman.  I have a feeling they might make it on to the big leagues.

§ One Response to Kickin’ it old school

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Kickin’ it old school at Frosted Lightly.

meta

