Job #1: Tackling the domestic domain.

June 19, 2010 § 1 Comment

I can’t bake bread.  I tried.  I followed the instructions to the letter.  But when I pulled the rolls out of the oven, they were as flat as when I put them in there and gooey like I’d never baked them in the first place.

Okay, so I stay at home all day.  And in order to suppress–or oppress?–the feelings of despair of lack of socializing, or the ebb and flow of homesickness, I have been on a cooking frenzy.  I write down recipes and I cook for hours, so when my husband comes home there is a brand new hot meal on the table.

I’ve learned I really like to cook.  Like, a lot.  And I’m really good at it, too.  But I guess that’s really no surprise, I mean, I am a Troutman.  I come from a very long line of great homecooks.  So the day I was making Rachael Ray’s skirt steak salad, I decided to bake Parmesan and Thyme Rolls, because bread is the one area of food that I have yet to tackle.  And the recipe said it was a no-kneading recipe.  So I didn’t have to worry about letting it rise all day or kneading it or anything.  Just combine the ingredients, set over night, and bake the next day.

Awesome, right?
Nope.

They smelled delicious, but the bottoms came out black and the rest came out chewy, and not the airy, flour-y chewy that bread is supposed to have.  It was the type of chewy where the dough so did not cook or rise like it should’ve.

My husband comes home just after I took them out of the oven.  And he popped it in his mouth and said, “Oh, wow, these taste delicious.”  And I said, “They didn’t cook right.  They’re too chewy.”  And he said, “Oh, I thought that was because of the cheese.”

And then he spat out what was in his mouth and put the thing in the trash.

Dinner was great, appetizers great, entree great, desert great.  But those rolls fought hard and won.
Next time I’m gonna win.

§ One Response to Job #1: Tackling the domestic domain.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Job #1: Tackling the domestic domain. at Frosted Lightly.

meta

