Your resentment is delicious.

May 2, 2010 § 4 Comments

I keep trying to think of things to write about, but to be completely honest only one thing has been on my mind in the past couple weeks, and that is the fact that in less than 24 hours I get to see my fiance.

And I know the internet world could care less about the happenings of my sleepover/bachelorette par-taayy or what my nails look like or what my dress looks like, and honestly, I don’t care about those things either. I’m just ready for it to all be over.

So, while I’m on my honeymoon and will be internet-less indefinitely, I will be taking a hiatus from the world wide web for the time being.
And here is what I’ll leave you with:

Movie of the Week: KickAss

Can I just say that I really do hate it when the movie title has a cuss word in it? Call me stupid, but it’s true.
But this movie is fantastic. I thought it was going to be surprisingly sappy, about a boy that just wants to try to change the world for good, but turns out it was actually an action movie. Who knew? I thought Nicolas Cage was a little out of place with all the other relatively unknown actors, but I suppose it worked.
What I liked most I think was that it was continually surprising. I had no idea what a bloodbath the thing would be, and the action movie about superheroes successfully maintained the fears and insecurities of what it’s like to be a teenager.

The little girl superhero was hilarious, though KickAss was my favorite character. And I will comment on the fact that yes, her character is 11 and yes, the language the 11-year-old had was absolutely atrocious. But think about it, in real life, she’s 13, and what 13 year old doesn’t drop the F-bomb nowadays? And if you’re thinking that your kid doesn’t, perhaps you’re right, but most 13 year olds I know are trying to act like real bad-asses themselves, and the best way to do that is to cuss up a storm. And look at Dakota Fanning. This actress played a girl trying to understand what it means to be a teenager in Hounddog. And Kristen Stewart dropped the F-word a few times in Panic Room. And if they can do it relatively unscathed from media attention, then Chloe Moretz should deserve the same treatment.
Overall, I give the movie 4 and one half out of 5 stars. But be careful, this is definitely not a family-friendly movie.

TV show of the week: Glee  
I know. You’re so disappointed. But I can’t help. The absolute crazyness that comes out of Jane Lynch’s mouth as Sue Sylvester cracks me up. Like when she tells Glee Club Coach Will Schuester, “I’m sorry, I lost my train of thought…there is so much margarine in your hair.” Or when she tells her “Cheerios” during practice, “You think this is hard? I’m passing a gallstone as we speak. That’s hard!” I dunno, it’s definitely worth watching for a good laugh.
I hate that the actual actors and actresses are well over the age their character is, but the song covers they do are great.
Although, this is definitely not a show that I can sit and watch more than two episodes at a time. The musical aspect of it doesn’t keep my attention for very long.

Music of the week: Augustana
I have been working on a playlist for my wedding, and I have rediscovered the band who sings the song “Boston” an appropriate themesong for me. There is something about the voice that is uniquely satisfying and the lyrics are worth listening to.
Favorite Album: Midwest Skies and Sleepless Mondays.

Book of the Week: Blue Like Jazz
This is technically the opposite of the book of the week in that I hate it so much it deserves an entire blog to itself, which I will eventually get to when I finish it. But let’s just say that the innerworkings of the mind of “liberal-Christian” Donald Miller do not sit well with me. It’s not that he’s preachy, and it’s not that he’s not sincere in his “walk,” but I just think the entire book is sketchy. Especially if you think about it: this Christian book is loved by Christians and the world. Now, shouldn’t we be wary of Christian manifestos that are praised by the world? And if you answer no, then I think you should take just one more look at the book. But, more to come for that.

So farewell internet world.
Next time you see me I’ll have a new last name and a new zipcode.

§ 4 Responses to Your resentment is delicious.

  • So Kickass is good? You’re the only person I know who’s seen it.

    Glee is awful, but it’s also delicious. Aside from the music and Jane Lynch, there’s not much else I like about this show.

    Augustana. Sigh.

    Blue Like Jazz is awful, well sort of. Since I found out you were reading it, I decided to re-read it. I’ve read it two ro three times already, but this time was different. I almost threw it down several times in disgust. I, too, am wary of “beloved” Christian books. I just think that if Donald Miller and I met, we wouldn’t be friends. We technically believe the same thing, but he’s too. . . I don’t know the right word. Liberal is not the word, but I’ll come to it. He’s awkward and condescending and weird and sarcastic and selfish and so many other things. A few of those I can identify with, but the others, I don’t know. I’m looking forward to reading your review. I think I’ll write a review, too, but yours will be way better. See you Friday, soon-to-be-Mrs.-Frost!

  • I think Blue Like Jazz is “beloved” because it is relate able and approachable. Donald Miller has a heart for those that most of the Christian Church dismisses. If that is liberalism then Jesus was a liberal.

    And perhaps the so called “world” (a term I sort of despise) has allegedly taken to the book is because it isn’t about Christianity as a Religion but as a Lifestyle. He isn’t condemning and he is probably a breath of fresh air from an otherwise overtly-religious Church.

  • bottles says:

    Sue Sylvester is the ONLY reason, beside the decent song covers, that I watch Glee.
    :)

  • incaseofzombieuprising says:

    Very insightful – I’m guessing you’ll know who this is by the name.

Leave a Reply

What’s this?

You are currently reading Your resentment is delicious. at Frosted Lightly.

meta

